top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

Racism in the Eyes of a Child

Updated: May 25, 2020




The media is constantly covering death these days, from bombings and shootings, to a crowd of innocents being run down by a vehicle. The heartache is real, perpetuating our society in a cycle of despair, hot anger, and political agendas. Sifting through the news channels provides no relief. Our hearts are sore. Parents begin to wonder, will my children be safe? How will I raise them in a society so full of hate and anger? Will I see them safely in my arms again after their first day at school? Will they grow old, or will the war greet us at our front door? What if the next bombing is in our hometown? What if. . . What if. . .What if. . .? Yesterday my husband and I were out shopping with our three month old baby. While he was trying on a pair of shoes, I sat on one of the benches with our son in my lap looking out on the isle in front of us. He loves to observe the world around him, and I can no longer wear him in a carrier facing me because he'll start fussing in indignation at being unable to see what I'm doing; whether I'm swiping my card at the register or grabbing a bag of dog bones, he has to be part of it as well. An African American woman and her young daughter were browsing the shoe selection near us. When her five year old daughter saw our son, Aiden, she squealed in delight, "Oh, a baby!" and marched right over to say hello. She touched his pudgy tummy and smiled into his clear blue eyes, "Hi, Baby!"


Within seconds he started giggling and smiling back. He knew she was another kid, and he was so excited that she was paying him attention. She kept her repertoire going while she tickled his sides. I smiled and told her his name was Aiden. Her mom smiled while stating apologetically, "She loves babies." I asked the girl her name, and Neveah continued blessing my child with smiles and love. I had to tell her that we would still be here after she got her feet measured because she didn't want to leave Aiden's side. Eventually, her mother said they needed to keep going, and the little girl tried to kiss Aiden on the lips. I gently told her not too, and her mom apologized again. We were all smiling- from my husband and I to her mom and the employee nearby. Innocence is the most beautiful thing in a world of heartache, and Neveah's was radiant. My son loved her instantly. At three months old, he was smiling and laughing and trying to talk with her.


I wanted to cry. Color wasn't an issue. She may have had black braids and corn rows; he may have had wispy blonde hair and blue eyes, but it didn't matter. It wasn't noticed. All they needed was to see each other, and they were friends. Why can't we simply SEE each other?


Wipe away the tears, the prejudices, the hatred, the sorrow, the injustice, the self-centered attitudes, the tunnel-vision agendas, and SEE each other.


See the pain and respond in love- not excuses.


See the prejudice, and start over.


See the fragility of life, and seek to preserve it.


Respond in love- not anger.


See the depth of those brown eyes, hiding scars and abuse.


See the freckled hands, and the cuts on the wrists.


See the braids and curls; the beautiful differences in a world of variety.


See the broken hearts, just waiting to be loved. Throughout history we have created different breeds of dogs and cats, from Persians to Pomeranians. If we love the striped and the spotted fur of our pets, why can't we cherish the variety ALREADY here in our own species? Why don't we love the tan, brown, black, and white of our skin tones? Children don't care. Children simply recognize other children.


No wonder Jesus said we need to have faith like a child. No wonder His command is that we love one another. How has the church forgotten such a simple command?


Isn't the best option to a complex issue the simplest answer? "Now they were bringing even infants to Him that He might touch them. And when the disciples saw it, they rebuked them. But Jesus called them to Him, saying, 'Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it." Luke 18:15-16 We hold our signs and create protests; we film videos spiting our rage and injustice; we do everything we can to create change- except example it to our children.


Love easily takes root in the hearts of those not yet hardened. If racism is nonexistent in the eyes of a child, why do we let it grow later? I challenge you to wear love uninhibited for your children.


For mine. "For you know how, like a father with his children, we exhorted each one of you and encouraged you and charged you to walk in a manner worthy of God, who calls you into His own kingdom and glory."


1 Thessalonians 2:11




*Originally written July 18, 2016 while my family and I were living overseas, and terrorist attacks were taking place all over Europe. Racism is something every generation must fight, and it starts and ends in the hearts of our children. Thank you for taking up the fight of shouting love over hate, acceptance over prejudice, and joy over sadness.

19 views0 comments
bottom of page