top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

To The Stranger That Saved Us Up In That Strasbourg Bell Tower



My friend recently visited us, and I was beyond excited at the prospect of traveling with her. She and I quickly decided we wanted to visit the picturesque Alsace French city of Strasbourg, to venture down its cobbled walkways, enjoy the sights of the Ill River, and most importantly, gaze up at the amazing gothic Notre Dame cathedral (Cathedral of our Lady).


We gleefully made plans to spend the entire day there. We planned on seeing and doing as much as we possibly could- including climbing the 332 steps of the 142 meter high bell tower that made this cathedral the tallest building in the world for 200 years.





This was my first European girl's trip. My husband and I usually go everywhere together. So my naiveté at what was truly a plausible day for us girls hit me when I reached about the 100th step. My friend was wearing my 12 pound baby that I had birthed only 3 months before, and I was attempting to carry my almost 30 pound toddler.


The thing about climbing the steps of a spiral bell tower is that once you commit, there's no turning back- even if you want to. There is literally no way to turn around. Because the line you waited in for 10 minutes to enjoy this experience

included more people behind you, and they are climbing those same steps after you. This also means that when your legs feel weak and your thighs ache and you are breathing in short little puffy gasps, you can't just stop. Everyone else is waiting to see the views at the top of this never ending bell tower, and your upcoming panic attack is just going to have to wait.





When I could no longer maintain my speed carrying Aiden, I started hanging on to his hands and swinging his little arms forward. He would fly up over a couple of steps, land, and I would take a deep breath before lifting him up again. Each time I stopped to breathe grew a little longer. By the 150th step, I had long surpassed stopping briefly, and that panic attack was looming closer and closer. My friend continued to call down from where she was ahead of me, making sure I was ok, but each time she spoke her voice sounded further away.


Panic belabored my breathing, and those puffy gasps had turned ragged. I wondered if the tower ever ended, or even if it did, how I would ever reach the top. That's when the fellow behind me graciously offered to carry my son the rest of the way. In broken English he came forward and offered to do what I couldn't. I was so grateful.


He surged ahead effortlessly with my almost 30 lb son, and I took a moment to compose myself before tromping up after them. The last 100 steps wound up surging beneath my feet much faster than I had thought. Before I knew it, we had made it to the top. At last, we had made it. And my screaming daughter welcomed us as she demanded to be fed.


My friend and I paused in the enclosed room as I nursed Lily next to the heater, and then strapped her to my chest. My son's small hand found its way to mine, and we stepped out to enjoy the views. Views we never would have been able to see without the kindness of a stranger.











I didn't know how to thank the man who had carried my son for me, so I offered to take his picture. It made me smile when all he wanted was to have his picture taken next to the blonde haired little boy in the batman jacket, my son. I didn't get a picture of him on my camera, but his kindness will not be forgotten.







It's amazing how a stranger can remind you of God's love. Just as this man carried my toddler, the Lord is near and willing to carry all of my burdens: my worries, frustrations, exhaustions. . . the weight of all of my sins. He's there to pour out His lavish love on us. His power is made perfect in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9), and He gives it freely. He took the weight of the world to the cross, buried it, and rose again- leaving all of our filth behind.



"Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears our burden, The God who is our salvation; God is to us a God of deliverances; And to God the Lord belong escapes from death."

Psalm 68:19-20


"The Lord your God is in your midst, A victorious warrior. He will exult over you with joy, He will be quiet in His love, He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy."

Zephania 3:17


"Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us eternal comfort and good hope by grace, comfort and strengthen your hearts in every good work and word." 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17


Happy Easter!






33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page