top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

Weddings with Daddy

Updated: May 25, 2020



My mommy put me in a flowery cream dress, and the lace is really pretty. She strapped pink sandals on me feet. I had to practice walking in them. A blush flower sits atop my head, and a white basket filled with petals lies on the table next to me.


One day, I’ll get to pick out my own white dress, and the back will be encrusted with rosebuds. Maybe I’ll skip wearing shoes and just go barefoot. The sun will warm my sweaty hands, and I’ll grip my bouquet tighter as I lean into my daddy’s proffered arm.





My mommy put me in a navy suit, and the jacket has lots of buttons. She zipped brown boots on me feet, and I have so much fun walking in my new shoes. A boutonniere is penned on my chest, and the flowers poke my chin uncomfortably.


One day, I’ll get to pick out my own dress shirt and pants. I’ll probably roll the sleeves and polish my shoes. The sun will set at my back as I gaze down at my bride, and my hand will reach for hers as her daddy releases her to me.





Mommy plays with us in the dining room as we wait our turn to walk out of the foyer and into the sunshine. We hold hands and giggle as we race back and forth. She says, “Go, go, go!” My feet stumble as I lurch forward. She whispers, “Stop!” My arm goes still in her hand, a grin on my face.


Brother will go with me. Daddy is kneeling at the end of an isle lined with white chairs and gauzy decorations. An arch festooned with flowers and a billowing drape fills the background, and beyond it is a pond of rippling water. I wish I could dip my toes in it like Moana.





The lawn is so big. The chairs are packed with people. Music fills my ears and people turn to look. Mommy holds mine and Sissy’s hands. We walk down the stairs. Normally, I would jump down, but so many are watching.


My eyes search for my daddy. He’s waiting for me, just like last night. Just like always.


He crouches down on the ground, and my lips pull into a smile mirroring his. Sissy shook out her petals in the foyer on the wood floor. We forget all about them now.


I clutch a tiny box in my dimpled fist; ready to give it to our “friend.”


Sissy and I break into a run.




The grass stretches before us. A chorus of “aww” fills the air, but I don’t care about a sea of strangers.


We are staring at daddy. His arms are spread open, and I can’t wait to jump into his embrace.


Brother gets there first. His legs are taller than mine, but I’m still just as big.


My basket flailed out behind me; my arms waving as my feet pounded the earth.


Daddy’s arms are warm and feel like home.


One day home will change. One day I’ll walk toward my groom. One day my brother will stand with the other groomsmen, and daddy will kiss my cheek as he gives me away.





One day, I’ll be the one waiting at the end of the isle. The girl of my dreams will search out my face. I’ll be waiting for her, just like my daddy. I’ll forget all about the other faces; all of the other people. Flowers will line the path but I’ll take no notice.


My hand will reach for a carefully chosen ring, and a new chapter will start.


Today, it was too hard to sit through the ceremony. While mommy’s cousin says her vows, daddy takes us out behind the house to walk through the grass and across the gravel path. Sissy sits on his shoulders while I collect sticks.


Today was full of fun, but my favorite part about weddings with daddy, is falling back into his arms.











“And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him.”

Luke 15:20

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page