top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

Dust and Smoke: The Revival You and I Need





Reclaim my innocence


Overwhelm me with Your presence


Loosen my fists, Lord, and let the dust fall to the ground


Before Your glory and love I drown


As I place unworthy loves before Your name


I was chasing smoke, and am the only one to blame


Misplaced trust in a world cloaked in sin


Unsatisfied lust in a heart that needs revived again


True happiness is found within Your spirit


Help me let go of things that hold no eternal merit


All this vanity and self gain


A whitewashed tomb of shame


May your truth pierce through the blindness of my mind


Sear it in my heart, Lord; most freeing a bind


Purify my soul and clean my heart


Let not my spirit fall a part


Quaking in a pit of my own making


Put me on Your solid rock; intrepid, without shaking


A steadfast love and peace abounds


When my soul in You is found


My hands were clenched around a temporary, allusive might


A trivial pursuit; oh, a wasted fight


But you can make my heart light


No longer burdened in a conundrum of choices


No longer heading a thousand voices


Trusting the path You lay before me


My future secure in Your promises that were, are, and will be


A never ending beauty of a love so bold and strong


To rescue me out of darkness all the night long


You treasure me beyond measure


I never need be unsure


Of He who holds the world together


Yet still keeps my heart tethered


And unbroken in a world crumbling


Healed and whole; finally done stumbling


This dust and smoke revealed for what it is


My vision under a new veil: forgiveness


My focus shifted to the sky


The dust left forgotten, you lift me above the smoke, and my soul flies







Proverbs 3: 3-6

"Do not let kindness and truth leave you;

Bind them around your neck,

Write them on the tablet of your heart.

So you will find favor and good repute

In sight of God and man.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

And do not lean on your own understanding.

In all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He will make your paths straight."


Colossians 1: 13-14; 17

"For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. . . He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together."


Hebrews 8:17-20

"In the same way God, desiring even more to show to the heirs of the promise the unchangeableness of His purpose, interposed with an oath, so that by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have taken refuge would have strong encouragement to take hold of the hope set before us. This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, a hope both sure and steadfast and one which enters within the veil, where Jesus has entered as a forerunner for us, having become a high priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek."


Isaiah 40:28-31

"Do you not know? Have you not heard?

The Everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth

Does not become weary or tired.

His understanding is inscrutable.

He gives strength to the weary,

And to him who lacks might He increases power.

Though youths grow weary and tired,

And vigorous young men stumble badly,

Yet those who wait for the Lord

Will gain new strength;

They will mount up with wings like eagles,

They will run and not get tired,

They will walk and not become weary."

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page