top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

Sometimes and Always





Sometimes, my breath still gets caught in my throat,

Sometimes, you still make my heart feel afloat,


Sometimes, I get lost in the blue of your eyes,

Sometimes, the beat of my heart flies,


Sometimes, holding your hand makes all the difference,

Sometimes, your laugh is my cadence,


Sometimes, your joy is my fulfillment,

Sometimes, I am amazed anew at your commitment,


Sometimes, your kisses undo me,

Sometimes, I think back on when you went on bended knee,


Sometimes, I want to go back and wear that white dress,

Sometimes, I am overwhelmed and blessed,


Sometimes, I imagine growing old together.

Sometimes, there are moments where things are harder,


Sometimes, we are both so physically tired,

Sometimes, the evil one tries our love to mire,


Sometimes, the road hits a rough patch,

Sometimes, the week offers days of a bad batch,


Sometimes, our prayers are stifled before they are uttered,

Sometimes, our hearts remember that gentle flutter,


Sometimes, God draws and unites,

Sometimes, we are given peaceful days and nights,


So through all the bends and surprises,

Through all the valleys and rises,


Know that my love isn’t sometimes, but always,

And when I fail to show you in every way,

I pray our Father will offer another chance, another day,

For me to say, I love you.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page