top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Weidner

When the Words Won't Come, An Open Letter to my Deployed Husband




Some days before I begin, I’m done.


The words jumble in my throat, choking on an incoherent tongue.

But there isn’t a fumble in my heart, where the word are free to soar and run.


So let me write my feelings,

Before you misunderstand the cards I’m dealing.


Let me express my love; even further, my devotion;

For you were fetched from above, a treasure, my completion.


I’ll love you always and forever.

When we’re apart, I’m comforted by our memories together.


So when phone calls and Skype aren’t enough;

When home draws, stresses hype, and the days are rough,


Remember my lack of action doesn’t denote lack of thought.

I long for the distance to be remote and forgot.


I may not message you throughout the day as much as I would like,

But while you’re away thoughts of our reunion make my heart light.


So while you’re gone, you’re near.

In my thoughts and heart you belong- have no fear.


We’ll pick up further than where we left off.

By God’s sweet tether we’ll soar aloft.


Even when the words won’t come,

Your love is my home.


I love you, Baby.





50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page